Fabric, Seamstress and Finishing the Dress

My fabric arrived from the company I ordered from and I’m so pleased with how it has turned out. The colours are perfect – subtle but not too dark. The detail shows up fine and the fabric hasn’t pixellated and remains crisp and clear despite the large size.
IMG_2044IMG_2045IMG_2046IMG_2047
I also purchased a black cotton lining material. Black seemed to bring out the colours better than white underneath the fabric.

IMG_2049

I gave the pattern, printed and lining fabric to my seamstress. She took my measurements, then went away and constructed some of the dress.

IMG_2176IMG_2182IMG_2185

At this stage the lining material hadn’t been sewn in under the main skirt yet. The colours still look great! The dress is very floaty which is exactly what I wanted.
The finished dress. I couldn’t be happier with this – the finish is so professional. The dress has good proportions and fits really well. The pattern and the fabric create a beautiful floaty effect which works very well together. The seamstress did a fantastic job and I’m so proud that I am able to wear something that is my own design but looks like it came from a store like All Saints.
Leave a Reply

