Fabric/Print Second Samples

So I picked Paris Chiffon for the dress material but I wanted to order some fabric samples before I commit to a really expensive fabric that hasn’t turned out right.
Firstly, I wanted to see how the colours would look on the fabric. I tested a 100% opacity, 80% opacity and 70% opacity print. I used the collage I created to use all of the colours I’d chosen. I did this because I want the colours to look quite muted. On each sample the opacity level is in the corner so I will know which level each one is.
Screen Shot 2016-04-27 at 14.21.36
Screen Shot 2016-04-27 at 14.21.46
Screen Shot 2016-04-27 at 14.21.53
I decided to only order 100% and 80% because anything less will probably be too muted and the colours will look too faded.

 

Screen Shot 2016-04-27 at 14.22.08
I also ordered two test prints of the coloured drawing experiment I did, to see how the detail and colour holds up. I ordered one in A5 and one in A4, to see what the drawings look like at different sizes.
Screen Shot 2016-04-27 at 13.58.38
 When the fabric arrives I will be able to finish the design and I will be able to order the fabric without any mistakes on my end.

 

My fabric samples arrived in the post a few days ago and I’m very pleased with the results!
The opacity actually looks better at 100%. A black background works best to bring out the colour and the detail, so I will choose a dark lining material for the dress.
The detail turned out very nicely at both the A5 and A4 sizes. The pencil lines are very crisp and the colour is vivid but still lets the detail show through well. The fabric is soft and floaty which I think will be perfect for the dress.
I am now ready to finish designing the fabric and ordering the chiffon from my chosen company.

 

 

Leave a Reply

