Drawing the Print Design

While I was waiting for the fabric samples to arrive, I started working on drawing the print design. I decided to draw each part separately and quite large (for me) to make sure the detail was big enough.

IMG_1734

IMG_1735

IMG_1645

I also used an onion and a apple (I didn’t have a pomegranate but still needed something round) because I needed a reference for rope ties. I experimented with different knots and different ways of tying the fruit/vegetables together.

 

For the second print samples I will be ordering with the chiffon fabric I chose, I scanned in part of the drawings I did. I used levels to edit the brightness/contrast of the drawing to make the drawing look neat. I also used the eraser tool to get rid of smudges to clean up the design.

Screen Shot 2016-04-27 at 13.56.35

 

To add colour, I selected multiply on the sketch. Each different colour is on a different layer underneath the sketch.

Screen Shot 2016-04-27 at 13.57.03

Screen Shot 2016-04-27 at 13.57.21

This is what the colour layers under the sketch look like.

 

Screen Shot 2016-04-27 at 13.57.37

The flat colour underneath the sketches. Previously I had tested the ideas of using shading/digital painting, but the flat colour actually looks really effective. Because of the pencil shading, there isn’t really a need to use digital painting for the colour. The design would be overcomplicated with too much going on for the colour.

 

Screen Shot 2016-04-27 at 13.57.46

Screen Shot 2016-04-27 at 13.58.08

This is what the colours and pencil drawings look like on a dark background. I’m so happy with how this experiment turned out, as I was worried about how the colours would turn out with the pencil drawings, but thankfully it looks really effective and I’m happy to leave it as it is. I now need to finish the rest of the design in this way.

 

Leave a Reply

