Pattern Photo Collages

The quickest way for me to practise several layout patterns was to use photos to create collages.

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 12.01.15

 

Starting using the photos I took, I created a kind of chaotic, flowing pattern, similar to the one from roses I made previously. This pattern could be repeated several times on a garment, or blown up quite large to be more of a placement print.

 

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 13.26.32

I also created a rectangular print using my own photos and a few more from online. This print could be tiled or blown up quite large to fit a single piece of cloth.

 

Last time I created the print using roses, I decided that my colouring skills needed a bit of improvement. To practise colour, I first made the image greyscale.

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 13.58.02

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 13.56.56

I decided that I wanted to use these colours for the pattern. They’re very similar to the colours I used on the rose pattern. I dedicated a single colour to each element to keep things simple. I feel like these colours are more than enough for a clothing print, they go together really well and there’s enough  balance between dark/light tones.

 

 

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 13.57.11

This is the finished result of the colours, on a black background. The colours stand out quite well against the black, and are different enough to each other that each element doesn’t get lost. I think what would be best is a flat colour underneath the detailed pencil drawing. The pencil drawing would have more than enough detail that flat colour won’t l0ok too unusual underneath the pencil. The only issue with this particular pattern is that there needs to be a bit more of the pink and whitish pink to break up the darker colours. There may also possibly be a little too much green. By adding these colours, I now realise that when I make my pattern I must keep the colouring in mind to create an even balance of both colour and shapes of different objects.

 

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 13.57.22

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 13.57.31

These are the original colours of the carnation and the chrysanthemum. The white was far too bright for the other colours and looked a bit cold. The bright pink I chose was too similar to the pomegranate colour.

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 14.12.51

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 14.12.41

I also tried out the same colours on the first pattern I made. What became apparent to me was that I have to be careful to make sure the colour isn’t so dark that it is lost on the black background. Also, the pencil drawings will need to be kept fairly light for the same reason.
I also wanted to try mixing things up a bit with the colour palette.
Originally, the first colour composition I had stuck to the colours that I had found from my research: white carnations for ‘remembrance’, pink tulips meaning ‘caring’ and red chrysanthemums meaning ‘sharing’. I chose the red and purple colours for traditional pomegranate and onion colours.

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 14.15.29

For this experiment I swapped the colours around. I actually think this could be a really great idea to make things a bit more interesting. However: the plant/flower colours were chosen because of their specific meanings, and different colours flowers therefore will have different meanings to the ones I chose. Unfortunately, because of this I think I will have to stick to the colours I first chose.

 

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 14.29.01

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 14.29.18

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 14.29.59

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 14.30.13

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 14.30.42

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 14.31.08

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 14.31.31

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 14.32.24

Using different colour filters, hue and saturation settings, I played around with the colour palette some more to see how it would affect the pattern. To refer back to my previous point, I think that the colour palette I first chose will have to be the one I stick to. I can, however, play with saturation and vibrancy if I choose to, because this won’t affect the meaning.

 

Leave a Reply

