Burning Flowers Drawings

Inspired by the videos I shot of the flowers burning, I attempted to create some drawings that captured the movement of the flowers in flames.
First I draw the burning flowers at different stages by pausing the video clip and using the still as a reference. I drew these on photoshop to save time as this was only a quick experiment.
I then experimented with different compositions, overlapping the drawings to achieve a sense of motion/movement. I think the two final compositions are the most interesting, as the flower heads are scattered randomly in ways that are compelling, but also show a sense of movement more successfully than the first two experiments.

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 17.25.09

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 17.23.10Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 17.23.43Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 17.24.15

I also created two small moving GIF from the images, mostly because I wanted to see how well the drawings would work as a moving image, and also because I never make animations so I thought it would be interesting to give it a go. I really like the way these turned out, although of course these aren’t suitable for the fabric pattern. There might, however, be some way I can include a GIF in the final pieces, should I decide I want to explore this way of making images further.

 

bf1bf2

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

